Archive for June, 2010

Seven State Tests Available for the Taking

June 15, 2010

State test components are now available for Alabama, Delaware, Missouri, Montana, Oregon, South Carolina and West Virginia.  Of those states, only Oregon will certify eligible MLOs who previously completed a state test.  For more see the NMLS Testing Page or the NMLS Certification Page.

What is a Certification Invoice?

June 2, 2010

A number of states are allowing MLOs to use previously completed state testing and/or pre-licensure education (PE) to satisfy SAFE requirements. This process is called “certification.” (See the Certification State List to see which states are participating.)

When a state certifies that an MLO has satisfied the state test and/or PE requirement, NMLS generates a certification invoice and sends an email to the MLO (and their company) telling them to pay the certification fees. The MLO must log into NMLS and pay the certification invoice in order to get credit for the test or education. MLOs can use the Paying a Certification Invoice Quick Guide for step-by-step instructions. The Test Certification Fee is $5.00 per test and the Education Certification Fee is $15.00.

For more, see the NMLS Certification Page.