Posts Tagged ‘Mortgage Education’

Continuing Education for 2011 (STATE)

September 21, 2011

The SAFE Act requires state-licensed MLOs to complete 8 hours of annual continuing education. Some states have additional requirements (see the State-Specific Education Requirements Chart).

So far in 2011, MLOs have completed 270,471 hours of continuing education (CE). Roughly 40% of the estimated 85,000 MLOs who are required to complete CE are now compliant.

MLOs need to complete their CE in order to renew their license for 2012. Don’t wait until the last minute. You can find CE courses on the NMLS Resource Center, under Professional Standards > Education.

MLO CE Compliance

Pay your certification invoice by December 31

December 22, 2010

Time is running out on NMLS certification of previously completed PE or state tests. Certification invoices must be paid by 12:00 midnight ET on December 31, 2010. For more information see NMLS Certification.

What is a Certification Invoice?

June 2, 2010

A number of states are allowing MLOs to use previously completed state testing and/or pre-licensure education (PE) to satisfy SAFE requirements. This process is called “certification.” (See the Certification State List to see which states are participating.)

When a state certifies that an MLO has satisfied the state test and/or PE requirement, NMLS generates a certification invoice and sends an email to the MLO (and their company) telling them to pay the certification fees. The MLO must log into NMLS and pay the certification invoice in order to get credit for the test or education. MLOs can use the Paying a Certification Invoice Quick Guide for step-by-step instructions. The Test Certification Fee is $5.00 per test and the Education Certification Fee is $15.00.

For more, see the NMLS Certification Page.

Already did your PE? What about state-specific courses?

May 14, 2010

The SAFE Act requires MLOs to do at least 20 hours of pre-licensure education (PE). In addition, each state agency can require state-specific content. This could affect you particularly if you hold more than one license.

For example, let’s say Bob holds a license in both Maryland and the District of Columbia. Maryland is going to certify his previously completed PE, which will put Bob in compliance as far as Maryland is concerned. But Bob still needs to satisfy the 3-hr DC law content requirement to be compliant with the District of Columbia. And the deadline is July 31, so Bob needs to sign up for a course soon.

To see details on your state agency’s dates and PE requirements, see the SAFE Requirements by State Chart.

PE Deadlines

May 11, 2010

In late May and early June, several states will hit their deadlines for Pre-Licensure Education (PE) compliance. See the SAFE Deadlines by State Chart for dates and details. To view the NMLS course catalog, visit the NMLS Education Page.

Many MLOs are eligible for certification of previously completed PE. To see if your state agency plans to certify PE, visit the NMLS Certification Page.

NMLS Education
NMLS-Approved Course Providers 210
NMLS-Approved Courses 532
Total hours of education logged in NMLS (9/3/2009 to 5/8/2010) 1,250,720